Eligibility and Application

Eligibility Requirements

To be considered eligible to apply for most financial programs students must verify your eligibility):

  1. Show you’re qualified to obtain a college or career school education by
    • having a high school diploma or a recognized equivalent such as a General Educational Development (GED) certificate; 
    • completing a high school education in a homeschool setting approved under state law (or—if state law does not require a homeschooled student to obtain a completion credential—completing a high school education in a homeschool setting that qualifies as an exemption from compulsory attendance requirements under state law);
  2. Be a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen.  PLEASE NOTE: The citizenship status you report on your Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) must match with the Social Security Administration (SSA). If your citizenship does not match with the Social Security Administration you will be required to update your information with the SSA and/or provide original documentation in person to the Financial Aid Office before Federal Aid can be disbursed.
  3. Be accepted in a degree program (Associate’s, Bachelor’s, Master’s or Doctorate).
  4. Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment as at least a half-time student in a degree program.
  5. Be making satisfactory academic progress toward a degree.
  6. Be registered with Selective Service, if required to do so.
  7. Not be in default on a loan or owe a repayment on a previous financial aid award received at any institution.
  8. Certify that financial aid be used for educational purposes only.
  9. Certify that if the student purposely gives false or misleading information, the student may be fined up to $20,000, sent to prison, or both.
  10. If you are incarcerated, have a conviction for a drug offense, or are subject to an involuntary civil commitment after completing a period of incarceration for a sexual offense, your eligibility for federal student aid may be limited.

        Additional information is available on the Federal Student Aid website.

The Application Process

After applying for admission to the University, students are encouraged to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) on the web at www.fafsa.ed.gov. The FAFSA must be completed each year. Students should renew their aid application each year through the Internet at www.fafsa.ed.gov.

Academic Eligibility to Maintain Financial Aid Eligibility

In order to maintain Financial Aid eligibility, you must understand all polices pertaining to Federal Financial Aid. Please review the policies below to have a better understanding of the specific requirements to maintain financial aid eligibility.

Standards of Academic Progress

Federal regulations require Embry-Riddle to define minimum standards of satisfactory academic progress to determine your eligibility for financial aid. Embry-Riddle must set certain quantitative and qualitative standards to ensure you are progressing toward degree completion. If you do not meet the Standards of Academic Progress, you will not be able to receive financial aid.

  • The qualitative standard is your grade point average (GPA).
  • This requirement is explained in detail in the University catalog under the Academic Regulations and Procedures section.
  • If you are suspended, dismissed, or not permitted to continue your enrollment, you will not be able to receive financial aid.
  • There are two quantitative standards. First, you must successfully complete 67% of the courses you attempt. Grades A, B, C, D, and P are considered successfully completed. Second, the overall time it takes to complete your program is considered.
  • You are allowed 150% of the length of your program to complete your degree. The maximum number of credits you could attempt depends on your degree program.
  • These maximum credit hours may vary depending on your specific program. If you change degrees or are a transfer student, the maximum credit hours may be extended by the number of credit hours required to complete your degree.
  • The standards are reviewed once each academic year and are updated at the end of your last term in the academic year. If you are failing the Standards of Academic Progress and have questions please contact a Financial Aid Counselor toll free 866-567-7202.

Consequences of Withdrawal

Students who withdraw, receive an “F” for *non-attendance or *non-participation from all of their classes are subject to the Return of Title IV Federal Financial Aid Programs Policy. Please review the Return of Title IV Funds Policy as it contains important information for students who withdraw or *ceases to attend all registered classes with in a term and receive Financial Aid. The Embry-Riddle Return of Title IV Funds Policy and Standards of Academic Progress, in accordance with federal regulations, will determine the amount of financial aid funds to be returned.

Scholarship funds will be reversed in their entirety for any student that drops/withdrawals/audits a course associated with a Worldwide Scholarship. Any balance created from the reversal will be the student’s responsibility.

*If a student ceases to attend ALL registered classes and/or ceases to participate in an academically related activity at any point during their Term of enrollment the faculty will use their discretion to assign an appropriate grade and supporting last date of attendance. For more information please review Student Services & Academic Affairs policies and procedures.

Repeated Courses and Financial Aid Eligibility

Federal regulation limits the number of times a student may repeat a course and receive financial aid for that course.

  • A student may receive financial aid when repeating a course that was previously failed, regardless of the number of times the course was attempted and failed. Also check your campus catalog for academic policies regarding course repeats.
  • A student may receive aid for repeating a previously passed course as long it is the first repeat of the course.
  • Once a student has completed any course twice with a passing grade, he/she is no longer eligible to receive aid for that course.
  • If a student retakes a course that is not aid eligible, those credits will be excluded when calculating financial aid eligibility.
  • Please understand that for federal aid eligibility, a passing grade is D or above. Academic requirements may differ.


  1st Attempt 2nd Attempt/first repeat 3rd Attempt/second repeat Is the class eligible for Financial Aid?
Course 1 F D Enrolled Yes
Course 2 C Enrolled -- Yes
Course 3 D C Enrolled No
Course 4 D F Enrolled No
Course 5 W F Enrolled Yes

Explanation of the Above Examples:

1. Yes-course is eligible. These credits are included in the financial aid enrollment because the student is allowed to repeat any failed or withdrawn course until a passing grade is received. Once a passing grade is received, financial aid can pay for the course again. If a grade of A, B, C, D, or F is made on the third attempt; the course will not count again in the calculation for financial aid enrollment.

2. Yes-course is eligible. These credits may be counted, even though it was previously passed, because it is the first time the class is being repeated.

3. No-course is not eligible. This course was previously passed and this is the third attempt. Two attempts is the maximum attempts these credits can count towards financial aid eligibility, because the course has been passed.

4. No-course is not eligible. The class credits are no longer considered for financial aid eligibility because it has been previously passed and this is the second time it is being repeated.

5. Yes-course is eligible. This course has never been passed so may still be counted towards financial aid eligible credits.